Mont Blanc Violet

2 Oct

I received this ink as a gift and have been using it ever since. It is an absolutely fabulous ink not to mention the incredibly functional MB ink bottle! I find this ink to be smooth writing and very well behaved. I’d recommend it to anyone who is looking for a dark purple that is on the red side of the spectrum instead of the blue/grey side!

The specifics:
Very good saturation, excellent flow and good lubrication.
Average to quick drying time at about 5 secs.
No feathering and little bleed through (none on good quality paper).
There is some observable shading especially with a wet writer on a coated paper like Rhodia.
No ink build up, staining, or clogging.
If you are a lefty overwriter you might experience some smearing.
There is no offending odor.

This color is a little harmer in tone than it appears in this photo. Some of it’s subtle red undertones are missing, but this is still a fair representation.

MB Violet Card

No Affil.

2 Responses to “Mont Blanc Violet”

  1. Anonymous October 24, 2009 at 3:59 PM #

    skrip peacock
    I have a great fondness for this ink, having used it from my teens up to young adulthood. I don’t know if I would still love it compared to the new turquoises, but I will always have a sentimental attachment to it. I’ll start looking out for it on eBay. I’d love to get a bottle with those cool inkwells. I used to have a few of those. Can’t believe I ended up throwing them out 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Writing Arsenal *Updated* « The Dizzy Pen - December 9, 2010

    […] MB Violet has fallen off this list as well. I still love it and it still holds all the sentimental value it did before, but I just don’t use it as much as I used to. […]

Leave a Reply

