Mont Blanc Toffee Brown Review and the Elizabeth I

9 Jun

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

Photo from Wheelers

I don’t often get a chance to stop by the MB Boutique, but I was able to get over there on Monday. The man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I went in knowing I wanted the Toffee Brown or the Lavender Purple. They didn’t have LP so TB it was.

The salesman allowed me to use a MB146 with a medium nib to  dip test the ink  before I bought it. I immediately fell in love with it. Now it should be noted that I’m not really a “brown ink kind of person”. I generally don’t care for brown inks with the exception of R&K Sepia and JH Cacao du Bresil, but this one just sang to me.

This ink is true to it’s name. It looks a bit like homemade toffee. It’s a rich medium brown with yellow and red undertones. It’s well behaved as all MB inks are, and the bottle is super functional (click the above picture for more photos of the bottle and packaging).

The details:

  • No feathering or bleeding
  • Flow and Lubrication is average: not too wet and not too dry.
  • Average drying time at about 7 seconds on several papers including Rhodia/Clairefontaine
  • The shading is magnificent especially with a soft nib like this 18k medium VP
  • There is absolutely no water resistance whatsoever. Klutzes beware!

MBToffeeBrownCard

MBTBonivory

While I was at the boutique the salesman allowed me to handle fondle the Red Mont Blanc Elizabeth 1 (limited to 888 pens). Let me just say that the pictures don’t even come close to the beauty of this pen! The size, weigh, fit and finish are just spectacular. If only I could afford the several thousand dollars it would take to buy one…

From the MB website

Here are the specs from the MB website:

Introduction: May 2010
Limited to: 888 fountain pens

  • Body and cap of solid 750 rose gold, coated with crimson transparent lacquer and decorated with the Tudor rose
  • Body and cap, even underneath the transparent lacquer, decorated with ornaments recalling the binding of the book “The Miroir or Glasse of the Synneful Soul”.
  • Rose gold clip with a princess-cut green garnet (~0.21 ct.)
  • Hand made 18 K rose gold nib with engraved royal crown motif

If you get a chance to look one over you should!

No Affil.

One Response to “Mont Blanc Toffee Brown Review and the Elizabeth I”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Mont Blanc Toffee Brown Review and the Elizabeth I « The Dizzy Pen -- Topsy.com - June 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Julie and Julie, Dizzy Pen. Dizzy Pen said: Mont Blanc Toffee Brown Review and the Elizabeth I: http://wp.me/pXarE-21 […]

Leave a Reply

