I Just Purchased a Manual Typewriter!

29 Jun

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

Someone posted a question on FPN about manual typewriters and whether anyone owned one. This immediately peaked my interest. I love all things old and writing related, so why not? It’s a writing instrument right?

After about half a second of thought I decided I absolutely had to have one. I ran it past hubby; he showed no objections. So, off to the antique stores I went. After three hours of searching and a couple hours of wiping, scrubbing, and oiling here’s what I got:

This is a 1950 Royal Quiet De Luxe manual typewriter!

Royalquietdeluxe2

Royalquietdeluxe

It was in exceptional condition, and it is in perfect working order. I’ve already been typing away on it.

Anyway, this is just a sneak peak. There will be a typecast review of it in a few weeks!

Share

7 Responses to “I Just Purchased a Manual Typewriter!”

  1. Stephanie June 29, 2010 at 5:40 PM #

    How fun! I love the look of typewritten documents these days (awesome font is why). Congrats on your new addition!

  2. Ron Lee June 29, 2010 at 6:01 PM #

    Ah this is somewhat scary. I believe I used a typewriter just like this in high school. Nice find. I like to cruise garage sales and I see typewriters here and there. I probably would go for something older or newer. I remember the IBM Selectric typewriters. Great touch on the keyboards. Somewhere there is an article on interfacing any typewriter to a computer. It was pretty clever.

    • Dizzy Pen June 29, 2010 at 6:26 PM #

      You know, prior to owning this little portable, the only other typewriter I’d ever used was an IBM Selectric. I actually took some typing lessons on a Selectric. My typing, however, is awful! Should I blame the Selectric? LOL

      Thanks for the reply.

  3. TAO June 29, 2010 at 11:27 PM #

    My grandfather was a typewriter repairman so I grew up with them in my life. I wish I kept one! Enjoy yours.

  4. Tejal June 30, 2010 at 7:56 PM #

    Wow, I totally want one of those. Nice buy!

  5. Ron Lee July 1, 2010 at 1:37 AM #

    So somewhere out there are typewriter collectors. (-: We should go find some of them. I can see where displaying your collection and selling at a show could be a lot of effort. I remember in Alameda, Ca there is an old office equipment repair shop that had an extensive collection of old typewriters on a shelf surrounding the store.

    Ron

  6. Jackie Flaherty July 28, 2010 at 7:15 AM #

    I recently bought a typewriter at a garage sale and after being inspired by Strikethru’s blog, I have begun to use it and I joined TYPEWRITERS group on yahoo. Plus, I recently got the cutest tpewritten thank you note and I blogged about it on 7/27 at http://www.lettersandjournals.blogspot.com.

    Looking forward to some fun on this.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Jackie
    http://www.lettersandjournals.com

Leave a Reply

