TWSBI Diamond 530, A Mini Review

7 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

twsbi capped 2

ETA: To read the Full Review click here! 10-6-10

I don’t normally do this, but I’ve had several requests for my preliminary thoughts on this pen. These are my initial impressions. A more thorough review is a few weeks out. I generally like to live with a pen for a good while before drawing my conclusions. I will say that I am impressed by the TWSBI Diamond 530 in spite of a couple issues. NOTE: TWSBI has informed the pen owners of an issue with the piston seal. If your TWSBI is leaking at the piston seal please email Speedy about getting a replacement part. For more information click here.

For some reason I wrote Mont Blanc 149. I meant to write Mont Blanc 146. The 149 is HUGE. The TWSBI is not nearly as big. Sorry.

twisbi mini review

No Affil.

Share

11 Responses to “TWSBI Diamond 530, A Mini Review”

  1. TAO July 7, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

    Thanks for the mini-review. It’s good to get a quick first impression especially if you are curious. 😀

  2. Cheryl - Writer's Bloc July 7, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

    I’ve heard about TWSBI pens but have been wondering about the quality. If it’s as big as a Pelikan M800 it might be too big for my taste. I’ll be looking forward to your complete review!

    • David Harrison July 9, 2010 at 6:30 AM #

      ‘Speedy’, the guy behind TWSBI, has posted for months on the development of the pen and has involved the community all the way along. The seems to pay close attention to detail. Once the piston seal issues are sorted the only weak link ought to be the nib as that’s bought in. Some folks have called the nib a bit toothy before smoothing. I’ll reserve judgement until mine reaches the UK!

      • Dizzy Pen July 9, 2010 at 9:25 AM #

        I agreed wholeheartedly. One of the most appealing aspects of this pen is that it is made for us by us. Awesome.

  3. Julie (Okami) July 8, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

    There is a post on FPN about the leaking issue and that they will send replacement parts to fix the issue:

    http://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/index.php?/topic/160265-notice-to-300-pre-sale-twsbi-diamond-530-owners/

    • Dizzy Pen July 8, 2010 at 11:22 AM #

      Thanks Julie. I hadn’t seen that thread. I’ve now sent an email to Speedy. 🙂

  4. Speedmaster July 11, 2010 at 7:39 AM #

    Very nice!

  5. Marco Ramirez October 5, 2010 at 1:52 PM #

    Wonder why we never saw a full review?

    • Dizzy Pen October 5, 2010 at 4:25 PM #

      It’ll actually be up tomorrow. I was waiting for the 1.5 replacement piston seals to come in.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention TWSBI Diamond 530, A Mini Review « The Dizzy Pen -- Topsy.com - July 7, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by mabeloos. mabeloos said: RT @DizzyPen: New Blog Post! TWSBI Diamond 530, A Mini Review: http://bit.ly/azurc0 […]

  2. TWSBI Diamond 530, The Full Review « The Dizzy Pen - October 6, 2010

    […] doubt many of you have seen my TWSBI Mini Review. I’d promised a full review after I’d had a chance to live with the pen for a while. […]

Leave a Reply

