Noodler’s Navy

30 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

This is Noodler’s review 3 of 3 for this week.

I never even planned to try this ink, but that all changed when I received a letter written with it. Now, I’m sure it had something to do with the letter writer’s amazing handwriting, but I really fell for this shade. See, I like blues, but I love them even more if there is a hint of green to them. Noodler’s Navy is just that: Navy. It is a dark blue with a touch of green.

It is very well behaved. I’ve had it in a Pilot Petit 1 for at least 3 weeks straight, and it is still going strong. I carry that little Petit 1 with me everywhere. I use it to sign receipts, jot down quick notes, or anything else that requires a pen. This ink performs admirably even on less than stellar paper.

The Details:

  • No feathering or bleed through. Even in poor quality papers.
  • Good flow and even better lubrication.
  • Fast drying at under 5 seconds.
  • There is a little shading depending on the nib, paper, etc.
  • This ink is not waterproof, but it is VERY water resistance. The blue rinses away, but a blackish line remains. It is very easily legible.

(click to enlarge the photo)

No Affil.

Share

4 Responses to “Noodler’s Navy”

  1. David December 15, 2010 at 12:24 AM #

    unassuming !! – try it in a Lamy 2000 BB or Sailor Sapporo MS and see how unassuming it is.:-)

    • Dizzy Pen December 15, 2010 at 12:29 AM #

      I use it in a Pilot Custom 823 with a juicy broad nib. Still pretty unassuming to me. It is, after all, navy. Great shading though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Noodler’s Navy « The Dizzy Pen -- Topsy.com - July 30, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by PocketBlonde, dandelion and Chris Davis, Dizzy Pen. Dizzy Pen said: New Blog Post! Noodler's Navy: http://wp.me/pXarE-4X […]

  2. My Writing Arsenal *Updated* « The Dizzy Pen - December 9, 2010

    […] Noodler’s Navy has become my workhorse ink. It’s near-bulletproof, so I don’t have to fear for my writing’s longevity. It’s an unassuming and relatively nondescript dark blue, so it’s not at all distracting. It’s extremely well-behaved no matter what I throw at it. To me, this is the definition of workhorse. I’m seriously considering ordering a 16 ounce bottle of the stuff… maybe I should make that 32 ounces just to be on the safe side? […]

Leave a Reply

