Pilot Iroshizuku!

2 Aug

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

This post marks the beginning of an Iroshizuku segment. I’ve got 8 samples and 2 bottles of Iroshi to get through. This ink is truly amazing. It is fantastic stuff. The colors on the whole are quite unique.

As mentioned in the Iroshizuku Price Hike and Finding Affordable Substitutes post, this ink now has an MSRP of $35 (you can find it for $28 at JetPens). I personally refuse to spend that much on a bottle of ink, so I’m on the look out for suitable (and cheaper) alternatives. So, the format for these reviews is going to be  a bit different. First, I’m going to review the Iroshi ink, then I’m going to show you an alternative to it if I’ve found one.

I hope you will enjoy it. In the meantime, let me show you a scan of the 10 Iroshi inks in question. NOTE: you might need something to catch your drool…

(You can click to enlarge this photo, but be forewarned, it is HUGE.)

Note2: The bottom and side portions are written using a Speedball B-5 1/2 dip pen nib. It writes just like a western broad nib. The paper is from a Rhodia N° 18 Blank pad.

No Affil.

Share

6 Responses to “Pilot Iroshizuku!”

  1. dandelion August 2, 2010 at 9:00 AM #

    I really like both this sample and your plan to provide suggestion of substitutes! 🙂

    • Dizzy Pen August 2, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

      Thanks Lady D. I’m hoping it all works out. Finding Iroshizuku subs is not easy.

  2. Lexi0514 August 2, 2010 at 11:14 AM #

    These colors are just beautiful. I have about 9 bottles and I absolutely love them. Thanks so much for the samples. Seeing the colors this way makes them even better.

  3. jniforat August 2, 2010 at 2:18 PM #

    i really love these inks, but they are just too expensive for me. I look forward to the substitute reviews!

  4. Cole Wardell August 2, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

    Excellent, I was JUST looking into purchasing an Iroshizuku ink! I’ll put off the decision till I read your reviews 🙂

    • Dizzy Pen August 2, 2010 at 10:23 PM #

      Which colors were you interested in?

Leave a Reply

