Scan of 7 new Diamine colors

5 Aug

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

Today I received a package of 30 Diamine inks. In that package was 7 of the 8 new Diamine colors. Since I know several people are anxious to see what they look like I quickly swabbed and dip tested each one. There will be full length reviews just as soon as I can manage it. My favorite so far is Asa Blue.

Red Dragon: Appears brighter in this scan than in person
Oxblood: true to color
Syrah: true to color
Evergreen: a little too yellow here, but very close to true
Green/Black: a little too much blue
Asa Blue: true to color
Twilight: true to color

(Click to enlarge and sharpen the photo, but be forewarned, the image is huge)

These samples were sent to me by the good folks at Diamine. I am not otherwise affiliated with them.

Share

8 Responses to “Scan of 7 new Diamine colors”

  1. Patrick - The Norsk Woodshop August 5, 2010 at 2:23 PM #

    Wow…great colors! I love the Syrah!

  2. Brian Goulet August 5, 2010 at 7:07 PM #

    Thanks for this Dizzy! A lot of people are excited about these new colors. They should be landing in the US here in the next few weeks to be available through US retailers. I can’t wait to test them for myself!

    • Tim Verpoorten August 6, 2010 at 6:59 AM #

      Loved the post Dizzy. Thank you! Looking forward to getting my hands on some samples from Brian. The Syrah and Evergreen interest me. I’d love the Oxblood, but with the new 1670 I got from Brian, my red color palette is saturated right now. 🙂

  3. Julie (Okami) August 5, 2010 at 11:35 PM #

    Lucky dog!! Hey Diamine – I’ll take some ink!! LOL!

  4. Julie August 9, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

    It looks like Evergreen is actually darker than the green/black. Is it? Or…

    • Dizzy Pen August 9, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

      I don’t know that darker is the right word. Evergreen has a higher saturation and is therefore richer than Green/Black. Evergreen, however, has a brightness to it. Green/black has something more gray/muted/vintage about it.

  5. Note Booker, Esq. August 23, 2010 at 11:09 PM #

    I’ve never seen either ink “in person,” but that Asa Blue resembles on-line depictions of Noodler’s Baystate Blue. Perhaps it could be a viable substitute for those not willing to put up with the staining of Baystate Blue?

    • Dizzy Pen August 24, 2010 at 9:45 AM #

      I don’t have a lot of experience with Baystate Blue but I can tell you Asa Blue is not nearly as vibrant as BSB. I’m not sure it compares well.

Leave a Reply

