Swabs of 7 new Pelikan Edelstein inks

4 Oct

Brian of The Goulet Pen Company sent over a swab strip of the new Pelikan Edelstein colors, so I figured I might as well scan it and put it up for all to see.

I can’t say I’m very impressed by the new Pelikan offerings. Of them all I think Jade is the only one I’d consider buying. The colors just seem so average… too average to be sold at $20 a pop.

A review of Edelstein Sapphire is forthcoming. I’m testing it out now. All I’ll say is that it seems disturbingly similar to Quink Washable Blue.

What do you think? Would you pay $20 for these?

5 Responses to “Swabs of 7 new Pelikan Edelstein inks”

  1. Marco Ramirez October 4, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

    $20 seems way too much for me. I wonder if Pear Tree pens would offer these in their sampler pack?

    • Brian Goulet October 5, 2010 at 3:11 PM #

      Thanks for the shoutout Dizzy. I’ll be offering these in sample form here in the next day or two. They aren’t a flashy ink, but less saturated like J. Herbin. I think they will have their place in the ink world, but they certainly aren’t an Iroshizuku substitute. They’re remarkably unimpressive in swab form. A lot of the $20 tag is the bottle, which is incredibly gorgeous.

  2. Bert October 6, 2010 at 4:13 AM #

    I might like the orange ink, but probably not for $20.

  3. Jimmy James November 13, 2010 at 11:52 AM #

    I agree with Brian — Pelikan obviously put most of the $20 in the bottle. I have Sapphire, which I may not have purchased if I saw the swab first. I also have Topaz, which satisfies me. I may eventually buy Jade.

    My best hope is that they’ll expand the line and give us better colors in addition to a fantastic bottle.

    By the way, I found this blog while looking at a FPN ink review. Nice work. Your blogging will definitely serve as an inspiration for my own existing fledgling effort.

Leave a Reply

