Quo Vadis Habana to be discontinued in its current form…

16 Dec

Yesterday Quo Vadis Blog announced that they would be introducing a change to the Quo Vadis Habana.

At this time, the Quo Vadis Habana comes with a leatherlette cover (not unlike the Rhodia Webnotebook) and with 90 g bright white paper. In 2011, the paper in the Habana will be changed to a 85 g ivory paper. Personally, I think this is a bad move from the company that usually gets it right. What do you think?

“In 2011, we’ll be switching our Habana notebooks over to the same paper as Quo Vadis France. The ones we sell in North America will still be made in the US, but they’ll now contain ivory colored paper that’s 85g in both small and large (and lined and unlined) versions.

The decision was made in the interests of international standardization.”

Read more here: Habana News

 

10 Responses to “Quo Vadis Habana to be discontinued in its current form…”

  1. Chris December 16, 2010 at 12:52 PM #

    In my personal opinion, striving for “international standardization” as well as for “customer satisfaction” are two principles completely foreign and opposite to one another. Why make changes for your customers if you plan to change them back later in the name of “international standardization”? Just the terms speaks of big business tactics and service which is the exact opposite of the terms I’ve come to expect from Exaclair. Not that I’m downing them or nay-saying, because I love their products and the people I’ve spoken to, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how things go.

    -Chris
    Pens’n’Paper

    • Tyler December 16, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

      I could be wrong, but I don’t think Exaclair is the problem. They are only a distributor, not the manufacturer.

      • Dizzy Pen December 16, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

        This decision came from Quo Vadis France not from Exaclair. Exaclair as been very helpful to the fountain pen community. They are our voice in France. Without them we wouldn’t have half of what we do.

  2. AK December 16, 2010 at 12:56 PM #

    Personally, I like the idea of ivory lined paper much better than a stark white, however I prefer bright white unlined paper, so it’s a toss up for me – in a way it’s good, in a way it’s bad.

  3. Halden December 16, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

    Why have the Webbie and habana if both will have the same paper? I like having the white option.

    • Julie (Okami) December 16, 2010 at 4:25 PM #

      I can’t believe they are going to pull the white paper!! That’s the reason I prefer the Habana! Ack – guess I’ll have to stock up.

      • Dizzy Pen December 16, 2010 at 4:32 PM #

        I can’t either! This is a mistake. Hopefully Exaclair can talk some sense into them.

  4. Patrick @ The Norsk Woodshop December 16, 2010 at 4:27 PM #

    I think it is a mistake as well. What I like about it is the thin leatherette cover and the white paper. If they change it will just be another webbie… 😦

  5. Brian Goulet December 22, 2010 at 10:46 PM #

    It’s not a matter of if the paper is changing, it’s when. It’ll be soon, too. I’m saddened by the change, but I’m also eager to see what the new paper is like.

  6. Julie December 23, 2010 at 3:03 PM #

    Pls understand Exaclair was not uninvolved in this paper change decision. (Check with Karen if you don’t believe me.) Good for Exaclair, good for the US plant in NY making the Habana paper, not good for those of us who love the white Habana 90g. If you read all the Habana posts on the Quo Vadis blog you can see that the US Habana paper was originally intended to be ivory just like they are outside the US. What we can trust Exaclair to do for us is advocate for the “special edition” white paper Habana to appear one day. Personally, I wish I had paid closer attention to these details much earlier so we could have addressed this issue before now. Like many of you, I am cast adrift without my beloved Habana…*sigh*

Leave a Reply

