Reflections

5 Jan

It’s 2011. I can hardly believe that 2010 has come and gone already.

2010 has a year of change for my beloved hobby, all things fountain pen.

In 2010, my review archive morphed into a full-fledged blog. In some ways, that change was thrust upon me. My archive was hosted on LiveJournal, but in June I moved it. LiveJournal made some changes to their format that killed the functionality of the site (unless you wanted to pay for a membership that is). I ended up with far less control of my archive and far FAR more invasive ads. After much research, I settle on WordPress. In June, my new site launched. With the increased functionality came an increase in reviews, and with the increase in reviews came an increase in my readership. And, with that, what started as a place for me to store and easily access my reviews turned into a blog. I now received requests for reviews and samples from manufacturers and retailers. I review those things in addition to my own FP related items. From June to December of 2010, my site has received a total of 34,000 hits. I can hardly believe it. It’s really been a fantastic journey. I’d like to thank each and everyone of you for your visits and your support.

My blog is not the only aspect of my hobby that changed in 2010. My accumulation of ink has nearly trebled in the last year. I now have around 80 bottles of ink and well over 50 ink samples. I’m still reviewing as I go. At present, I have a backlog of about 30 ink reviews that are waiting to be scanned and posted here on The Dizzy Pen.

While my ink accumulation increased, my pen accumulation decreased. In 2010, I sold off and gave away quite a few pens. I got my core selection down to about 14 pens plus a handful of Platinum Preppies, Noodler’s pens, and various other “cheapos”. Although I still plan to make changes, I’m quite happy with my pens.

Perhaps the biggest change for me has been my office. I consider my office a part of my hobby. It is not only the place I do all my schoolwork, but it is also the place I use and play with my pens and inks, write my reviews, scan them in, and post them online. In 2010, I moved to another part of the state and into a smaller place with a smaller office space. It took a few months, but I think I’ve finally gotten it where I want it.

 

I have a writing desk set up in front of the window so that I can look out at the forest behind my home. Of course, my pens are on that desk. The ones in the wooden holders are inked (there are far too many inked right now). My uninked pens are actually in the bottom drawer of my inbox (shown on the right side of the desk). Underneath that desk is the paper shredder and my manual typewriter.

The computer desk is against the wall to the left of my writing desk. Above the computer desk are my ink shelves. My ink bottles are in the two purple boxes. My ink samples are in the top basket, and my empty Nalgene bottles, syringes, pipettes, etc are in the bottom basket. If you look very closely, you can see my newest addition, a 16 ounce bottle of Noodler’s Navy. How awesome is that?!

Of course, no office is complete without a printer. My Canon Pixma MX 870 sits between my two desks. It is a fantastic all-in-one printer. The scanner is particularly good. If you are in the market for an all-in-one, I highly recommend this printer.

Not shown in this picture are my bookcases. They are on the wall to the right of my writing desk. My office doubles as my husband’s closet and the ironing room. Obviously, I’ve left those out as well.

I’m excited to see what 2011 will bring. I’m sure there will be new inks and new pens. Some of my accumulation will probably be re-homed. At some point I’ll be moving again, so my office will change. But, most of all, I’m excited to see what will happen with The Dizzy Pen. I can promise many more reviews and giveaways, but, as for the rest, we’ll just have to wait and see…

5 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. Lexi0514 January 6, 2011 at 8:35 AM #

    Your office/desk is lovely. Wish mine was as clean! Love your blog.

  2. Halden January 7, 2011 at 11:13 AM #

    Looking forward to reading more from you this year.

  3. Donnie January 22, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

    If you don’t mind me asking, how much did the 16 oz jar of Navy set you back? Even though I have a ton of ink I still need to use, a 16 oz jar of Air Corp Blue/Black, or, even better, Legal Lapis would be really sweet.

  4. Chris Lott June 1, 2011 at 4:33 PM #

    Have enjoyed browsing your past blog updates and reviews… any chance you will be returning to blogging?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Reflections « The Dizzy Pen -- Topsy.com - January 5, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Scott Sprich, Dizzy Pen. Dizzy Pen said: New Blog Post! Reflections: http://wp.me/pXarE-bS […]

Leave a Reply

