Diamine Evergreen

27 Jul

Diamine Evergreen is one of those colors that many hoped would replace the now discontinued Montblanc Racing Green. Alas, this isn’t it. While this is a nice dark green it lacks the olive tones and antique appearance of Montblanc Racing Green. Really, I’d say this is a more obviously green version of Noodler’s Zhivago. Nevertheless, if you are a fan of Racing Green, then this color will probably appeal.

Honestly, I’m not much of a green ink sort of person, but even I’m kind of fond of this ink (but not fond enough of it to use it on any regular basis).

The Details:

  • No feathering or bleeding
  • Flows very freely and has decent lubrication. Not a dry writer at all.
  • Dries pretty quickly on the papers tested.
  • Not much shading at all. It’s a bit too saturated/dense for that.
  • Definitely not waterproof and really not very water resistant. If you are quick you can salvage a faint trace of your writing.

(Click to enlarge and sharpen the image. Scan appear slightly more yellow than in reality.)

This ink was sent to me for review by the good folks at Diamine Ink Co. I am not otherwise affiliated with them.

3 Responses to “Diamine Evergreen”

  1. Katie July 27, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    It’s a great color for work, if you are tired of blue and black!! Dark enough not to be inappropriate for business, different enough to be fun 🙂

  2. SheilaM July 27, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

    I am not much of a green fan either, but I do like this ink. I agree with Katie that this can easily be used in a work setting without looking out of place, but it’s got enough color to stand out. I keep coming back to it without really meaning to…I guess that’s one of the hallmarks of a nice ink!

  3. Karen L. Peabody August 9, 2011 at 10:26 PM #

    I recently discovered this ink and I’m so glad I did. I was kind of hunting for a black substitute, and thought I might try to experiment with green-black inks. I wanted something that was deep and rich, almost a black, but not quite. I also wanted to make sure that it wouldn’t raise any eyebrows in a conservative workplace. This ink met all of my requirements. I only tried a sample, but a bottle is definitely in my near future. =)

Leave a Reply

