Noodler’s Eel Blue

26 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

I happened upon this ink when I was looking for an ink to improve the flow of my Pilot Custom 823. I have to tell you I was pleasantly surprised by this ink. Not only is the flow magnificent, but the lubrication is out of this world! It is SMOOOOOOOOOOOTH. It’s quite easily the smoothest ink I’ve ever used. This smoothness is the result of additional lubricants that are added to Noodler’s American Eel Inks. You can find Nathan Tardiff’s (founder and maker of Noodler’s Ink) write up for the American Eel Series here (just scroll down past the Legal Lapis stuff). The blurb is too long for me to post in its entirety, but here is a quote:

This new formulation has gone through extensive testing and is being introduced as the first truly lubricating ink in decades: the Noodler’s American Eel series. Any Noodler’s label with the smiling eel contains lubricants for use in moving seal mechanisms. Added benefits are the slightly higher dye contrasts, a slick/super smooth writing effect, and the reduction of wear for BOTH synthetic rubber, natural rubber – as well as nylon seals (previous inks did very little for rubber seals).

I don’t have any pens with stiff seals, so I can’t comment on whether or not Nathan’s claims are true, but I can confirm that slick/smooth feeling.

Here’s the details:

  • No feathering or bleed through.
  • The flow and lubrication are magnificent.
  • The drying time is average to slow at about 10 seconds.
  • There is some shading. If you are a printer you’ll notice this more.
  • There is absolutely no waterproof-ness to this ink.

I really just wanted an eel ink, and since I use blue inks the most I figured blue would make the most sense, but let me tell you, I was more than pleasantly surprised with this color. It has some turquoise undertones to it that make it more than just your standard blue. I really really like it! So, I not only have an eel ink to improve flow and lubrication, but I’ve also added a very appealing blue to my ink collection. I love it when things like this happen.

(click to enlarge this image)

No Affil.

Share

3 Responses to “Noodler’s Eel Blue”

  1. Sam July 26, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    I used Noodler’s Eel Cactus to cure a very dry-writing Parker 61. It was like a different pen with the eel ink.

  2. inkophile July 27, 2010 at 4:45 AM #

    Good stuff. My Pelikan fountain pens love it!

  3. switz July 31, 2010 at 9:42 PM #

    I just bought this ink for my dry writing Parker 51. I hope it improves the flow a little bit. If it doesn’t it won’t be a problem because I need a blue ink anyways, it would be a huge plus though. I can’t wait for it to arrive! Your reviews are great, always very informative.

Leave a comment