Diamine Jet Black

14 Jul

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

There’s no sense in beating around the bush here, I do not like this ink. Black is just not my ink color especially not one that shades. As a matter of fact, I no longer have the bottle. Last year I traded it to a fellow FPNer. I’ve had this review written up for quite some time, but I couldn’t bring myself to post it. That is, until I saw a thread on FPN about a member looking for an ink that writes similarly to his favorite rollerball refill.

At first I scoffed at this: ” FP ink like rollerball ink? Blasphemy!” I thought to myself. But, when I ran across this review card the other day I realized that this just might be a good candidate. The poster wanted a black ink (√), that wasn’t too saturated (√) and that shaded just enough so that he could see the paper behind his writing (√). In my opinion Diamine Jet Black fits that description. Now if I could just find that thread so I can recommend it to the OP…

The Details:

  • No feathering or bleed through
  • Decent flow and lub, but there is a dry feeling about it.
  • Slow drying time at 12ish seconds
  • It shades quite a bit for a black ink (especially one called JET black)
  • It is water resistant, but not waterproof

Dia Jet Black Card

No Affil.

Share

6 Responses to “Diamine Jet Black”

  1. Julie July 14, 2010 at 9:50 AM #

    *Laughing out loud* And here I was gearing up for you to praise this ink! I, too, am unimpressed by Diamine Jet Black. Unlike you, though, I like a good black ink. J. Herbin Perle Noire comes to mind. I’ll confess I really like Diamine Grey which might drive you a little mad. 🙂 I’d like to give Diamine’s Onyx a try.

    • Dizzy Pen July 14, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

      I hear great things about Perle Noire. If I were in the market for a black ink that would be the one I’d purchase. As it is I only own one bottle of black ink: Cross Black. It’s not bad, and is fit for occasional use.

  2. jniforat July 14, 2010 at 12:35 PM #

    Great review.

    Quick Question: did you use the Diamine Jet Black for the categories as well (e.g., “feathering,” “bleed through,” “cost,” “pen used”)? The black used for the categories seems darker.

    Thanks,

    jniforat

    • Dizzy Pen July 14, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

      The categories were written with a Sharpie pen.

  3. Patrick - The Norsk Woodshop July 14, 2010 at 1:47 PM #

    Thanks for the great review. I am a black fan but have not tried many bottled blacks other than Noodlers since there are so many great colors out there!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Porsche : : Friday Grab Bag of Links … - Car Gallery - July 16, 2010

    […] Pens / Writing.Diamine Jet Black – The Dizzy PenWhatever: Featured Pen – Waterman 52 BCHRNotebook Stories: Feeling Guilty About NotebooksThe […]

Leave a comment