I Made a Pen Stand!

3 Aug

[tweetmeme source=”dizzypen” only_single=false https://dizzypen.wordpress.com%5D

I like woodworking. I mean REALLY like woodworking. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the space or the tools to do it since I move away from home several years ago.

Well, a couple finicky vintage pens changed all that. They only like to be stored nib up. If stored on their sides they spit ink. So, I needed to find a way to safely store them nib up: enter the pen stand.

I knocked this together with very little:

2’x2″x1″ piece of red oak
1 piece of 3/8″ oak dowel
Drill
1 3/8″ drill bit
1 3/4″ drill bit
Saw
Wood glue
Nails (optional)
Sand Paper
ruler
Pencil

The result:

Pen Stand

Share

7 Responses to “I Made a Pen Stand!”

  1. Julie (Okami) August 3, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

    This is wonderful and so simple. Thanks.

  2. Patrick - The Norsk Woodshop August 3, 2010 at 3:29 PM #

    Nice work!

  3. Brian Goulet August 3, 2010 at 3:34 PM #

    Not bad Dizzy! I’m an avid woodworker, so I speak with authority when I say your pen stand is ‘respectable’! 😉

    • Dizzy Pen August 3, 2010 at 3:38 PM #

      Thanks Brian.

      I knocked it together really quickly. It’s a little rough, but it works. Once I get my shop (dear Lord let it be soon) I’ll start making much nicer things. Until then, it was an easy little craft project.

  4. TAO August 3, 2010 at 10:01 PM #

    Very nice!

  5. Dave Pawson October 18, 2010 at 2:24 AM #

    Sweet, simple and effective!

    Thanks for sharing!

    pe2dave

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I Made a Pen Stand! « The Dizzy Pen -- Topsy.com - August 3, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by mabeloos, Dizzy Pen. Dizzy Pen said: New Blog Post! I Made a Pen Stand!: http://wp.me/pXarE-5l […]

Leave a comment